List of Works

Here you will find a list of Bethan’s chamber works, some of which are available to buy via the online shop. If you wish to perform one of Bethan’s pieces, or if you have questions or specific requirements that are not listed, please get in touch using the contact form.


Gormod (2024)

Oboe, Basset Clarinet, Euphonium, Viola & Cello

Commissioned by Berliner Festspiele/MaerzMusik, with funding from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation. First performance on 20 March 2024 by Peter Veale, Carl Rosman, Maxime Morel, Axel Porath & Dirk Wietheger, Radialsystem (Berlin, DE). Duration ca. 12′

Fleck (2023)

Clarinet in Eb, Clarinet in A & Viola

Written for a Darmstadt Ferienkurse workshop. First performance on 18 August 2023 by Marcin Domagala, Yui Matsunaga and Yona Su, Lichtenbergschule (Darmstadt, DE). Duration ca. 10’

Voices Go With You (2022)

Alto Flute, Cello, Percussion & Piano

Commissioned by Psappha Ensemble. First performance on 12 May 2022 by Psappha Ensemble, Hallé St. Peter’s (Manchester, UK). Duration ca. 11’

Parodi i Dri (2021)

Clarinet in Bb, Violin & Piano

Commissioned by National Youth Arts Wales. First performance (virtual) on 21 October by Nathan Isaac, Nick Francis & Gwydion Rhys. Duration ca. 5’30″

Traces of a Disco (rev. 2021)

Alto Flute, Bass Clarinet in Bb, Vibraphone, Cello & Double Bass

Revised for new instrumentation. Revised version first performed on 17 July 2021 by Clare Findlater, Heather Roche, Jake Brown, Colin Alexander & Tom Goodman (cond. Darren Bloom), LSO St. Luke’s (London, UK). Duration ca. 6′

Demeter's Cry (2020)

Violin, Accordion, Double Bass & Drum-kit

Commissioned by Fenella Humphreys with funding from The Marchus Trust. First performed on 5 October by Fenella Humphreys, Iñigo Mikeleiz Berrade, Ben Griffiths & George Barton, Chiltern Arts Festival (Henley-on-Thames, UK). Duration ca. 6’30″

Dog in the Moon (2020)

Viola & Percussion

Commissioned by the BBC & London Symphony Orchestra for Antoine Tamestit & Colin Currie. First performed on 8 October 2021 by Antoine Tamestit & Colin Currie, LSO St. Luke’s (London, UK). Duration ca. 10′

Violin & Piano

Commissioned by the Park Lane Group with funds provided by the RVW Trust. First performed on 13 July 2020 by Hannah Weirich & Ulrich Löffler, Studio of Ensemble Musikfabrik (Köln, DE). Duration ca. 8′

String Quartet

Commissioned by Hilary Browning. First performed on 6 November 2019 by Equilibrium Ensemble, University of Liverpool Lunchtime Concert Series (Liverpool, UK). Duration ca. 14’30”

String Quartet

Commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society through the Susan Bradshaw Composers Fund. First performed on 11 July 2018 by the Ligeti Quartet, Cheltenham Music Festival at Chapel Arts (UK). Duration ca. 11′

Traces of a Disco (2018)

Cimbalom, Bass Clarinet in Bb & Double Bass

Commissioned by Rachel Swanick with support from the Arts Council England, Psappha and the Whitworth Art Gallery. First performed on 17 May 2018 by Psappha Ensemble, Whitworth Art Gallery (Manchester, UK). Duration ca. 5’40”

Bassoon & Harpsichord

Commissioned by Hugh Woolley. First performed on 7 May 2017 by Hugh Woolley and Stephen Giles, Birmingham Conservatoire (UK). Duration ca. 6’30”

Trombone and Live Electronics

Commissioned by Psappha in partnership with PRS for Music Foundation Talent Development. First performed on 15 February 2017 by Tony Boorer & Bethan Morgan-Williams, Hallé St. Michael’s (Manchester, UK). Duration ca. 5’30”

Violin & Piano

First performed on 31 January 2016 by Paul Silverthorne & Aglaia Tarantino, LSO St Luke’s (London, UK). Duration ca. 8′

Horn & Live Electronics

First performed on 15 May 2015 by Alison Wilmshurst & Bethan Morgan-Williams, Royal Northern College of Music (Manchester, UK). Duration ca. 8′

Helpings of Hell (2013)

Flute & Double Bass

First performed on 2 July 2013, British Museum: RNCM 40th Anniversary Concert (London, UK). Duration ca. 5′

A Beautiful Dance With A Chainsaw (2012)

2 Drum-kits, Piano, Electric Guitar, Violin & Cello

First performed on 30 November 2012 by the Vulgar Display, Royal Northern College of Music (Manchester, UK). Duration ca. 7′

News Bulletins (2012)

Piano Trio

First performed on 26 April 2012 by Bethan Morgan-Williams, Abel Selacoe & Leanne Cody, Royal Northern College of Music (Manchester, UK). Duration ca. 14′

U Ty Uchaf (2006)

Violin Quartet

First performed in June 2006 by Catherine Lord, Katie Sharp, Kate Suthers & Bethan Morgan-Williams, Wells Cathedral School (UK). Duration ca. 8′

Bywyd Y Nant (2005)

Violin Quartet

First performed in December 2005 by Catherine Lord, Katie Sharp, Kate Suthers & Bethan Morgan-Williams, Wells Cathedral School (UK). Duration ca. 6’30”

Bryanston Jig (2002)

2 Violins, Viola, 2 Double Basses & Bongos

First performed in August 2002 by Catherine Lord, Katie Sharp, Ben Weedon, David Heyes, Alfie Weedon & Bethan Morgan-Williams, Bryanston College (UK). Duration ca. 2′