Commission from Uproar Ensemble to write a piece for flute (Joanna Shaw), clarinet (Michael Whight), soprano trombone, (Torbjorn Hultmark), percussion (Julian Warburton), harp (Manon Morris), piano (Siwan Rhys), electric guitar (James Woodrow), 2 violins (Miranda Fulleylove & Philippa Mo), viola (Fiona Winning), cello (Deni Teo), double-bass (Alan Taylor) & electronics (Bethan Morgan-Williams). Cond. Michael Rafferty.
The new piece – Devil’s Elbow – is a reaction to a recent personal experience, with the composition process having allowed the composer to process some of the hurt and anguish that resulted. The piece explores themes of love and violence; creation and destruction; unification and separation; and temptation. It uses language as the basis for generating both the pitch and rhythmical content, and aims to communicate an overriding impression of being torn as a consequence of the incompatibility of two paths. It is not kind – nor is it ambiguous – but, it is somewhat farcical and sometimes even playful.
Premiere: 28 February 2020, Chapel Arts Centre (Cardiff)

Performance: 13 March 2020, Aberystwyth Arts Centre

Performance: 21 March 2020, Galeri Caernarfon [POSTPONED]
Tickets/box office to follow

Performance: 25 April, Bristol New Music Festival [POSTPONED]
Tickets/box office to follow

Performance: 3 June, Festival KLANG (Montpellier, France)
Tickets/box office to follow